The sword shrivels to flakes of snow.

As evening falls, the city of Esteburg begins to stir. Christophor Morden, one of the king's special inspectorate, is woken early by a call to the city prison. A heinous crime has been committed and the police suspect supernatural causes.

The law devours its history.

The investigation will take Christophor far from home, to a village on the edge of the Kingdom. There he will discover the signs of an unholy ritual that can only be performed by a witch.

The stone moves on water.

But within Christophor – as within all the citzens of Reikova – is a day brother: Alexsander, a musician who knows nothing of night. And as his night brother nears the truth, Alexsander will find himself determined to halt him.

The broken heart bleeds gold.

And all the while, the witch's ancient and apocalyptic ritual comes ever closer to completion...

'Clever, original and beautifully crafted... the story holds like a vice' 

- Daily Mail

'This spellbinding fantasy... is sure to please'

 - Publisher's Weekly

Pre-order from Head of Zeus now!

Widow's Welcome: Tales of Fenest Book One

There's power in stories and this is a story of power.

Dead bodies aren't unusual in the alleyways of Fenest. Muggings, brawls gone bad, debts collected – Detective Cora Gorderheim has seen it all.

Until she finds a Wayward man with his mouth sewn shut.

As Cora pieces together the dead man's story, she's drawn into the most dangerous story in the Union of Realms: the election. All she wants is to catch the killer, but nothing is that simple in an election year. Dark forces conspire against the Union and soon she finds herself at the rotten core of it all.

Who could want his story to be left untold?

'An utterly absorbing tale set in a fascinating world. A terrific start to the series' - Mick Finlay.

'It's rare to find such a richly imagined world about the art of myth and storytelling' - Christopher Fowler.

Available from Head of Zeus August 2019

Your Resting Place: The Walkin' Book 3

Rumours of the Drowned Woman are rife. She hunts down wanted men but never collects on the bounty. Some say she can't be killed, not in the usual ways. The Drowned Woman is looking for one man in particular: he killed her husband and stole her daughter.

Her family has been wronged.

There will be a reckoning. 

'The Walkin’ trilogy has been a genuinely fascinating experience [...] this final book ends on a pitch perfect, bittersweet note' - The Eloquent Page

 '[...] a cracked revenge Western and road story that holds a few surprises for the reader' - The Horror Hothouse

Available now from: Quercus Books

Your Servants and Your People: The Walkin' Book 2

Seven years after Thomas returned as a Walkin’, the McDermott family are pursuing a new life as they run from Barkley to the remote outpost of Fort Wilson. 

But the teachings of J.S. Barkley are not so easily forsaken – there are those that would see the sinners dead, and they are slowly closing in.

'[...] fresh, richly imagined, and sure to stand out for readers looking for a new twist on a classic genre' - Bibliosanctum

'DT really does know how to set fire to a plot and keep it burning!' - The Book Geek Says 

'A thought provoking but fucked up Little House on the Prairie' - The Horror Hothouse 


Available from: Quercus Books

Your Brother's Blood: The Walkin' Book 1

Thomas is thirty-two. He comes from the small town of Barkley. He has a wife there, Sarah, and a child, Mary; good solid names from the Good Book. And he is on his way home from the war, where he has been serving as a conscripted soldier. Thomas is also dead – he is one of the Walkin’. And Barkley does not suffer the wicked to live.

'Towsey — with rich characterization, starkly beautiful language, and philosophical depth — is just getting warmed up' - NPR

'... a sparse, elegantly written novel about family ties' - SFX

'Towsey’s writing is a joy [...]. This will appeal to fans of both the zombie and classic Western genres' - The British Fantasy Society 

Available from: Quercus Books